Days Presented

Tuesday, November 15 and Thursday, November 17, 2022

The SC Conference showcases the best and brightest in HPC, both the rising stars and those who have made a lasting impression. A variety of awards from computing societies and the SC Conference honor important accomplishments in the field, from innovative achievements to work of enduring historical impact.

Nomination Deadlines

Society Awards

ACM Gordon Bell Prize

The Gordon Bell Prize recognizes outstanding achievement in high performance computing. The purpose of the award is to track the progress over time of parallel computing, with particular emphasis on rewarding innovation in applying high performance computing to applications in science, engineering, and large-scale data analytics.

ACM Student Research Competition Award

The ACM Student Research Competition is a national competition involving many ACM-sponsored conferences. Each participating conference runs its own round of the competition, with the winner proceeding to the national competition. Awards are presented to both graduate and undergraduate students at the conference level and the national level.

ACM SIGHPC Computing4Change Competition

Students selected for the Computing4Change competition will participate in six webinars to learn core skills and develop experience with selected software tools. At SC they will be given a major societal issue that impacts their lives and will use computers to tackle that issue. Selection of the winner is based on the quality of the solution, the implementation, clarity and accuracy, and potential impact.

ACM SIGHPC Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

SIGHPC’s Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award is given for the best doctoral dissertation completed in high performance computing. This award is open to students studying anywhere in the world who have completed a PhD dissertation with HPC as a central research theme.

ACM SIGHPC Fellowships in Computational and Data Science

A five-year program to increase the diversity of students pursuing graduate degrees in data science and computational science, these fellowships specifically target women or students from racial/ethnic backgrounds that have not traditionally participated in the computing field. The program is open to students pursuing degrees at institutions anywhere in the world.

ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship

Endowed in memory of George Michael, one of the founding fathers of the SC Conference Series, the ACM IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships honor exceptional PhD students throughout the world whose research focus areas are in high performance computing, networking, storage, and large-scale data analysis.

ACM/IEEE-CS Ken Kennedy Award

The ACM/IEEE-CS Ken Kennedy Award recognizes substantial contributions to programmability and productivity in computing and substantial community service or mentoring contributions.

IEEE-CS Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award

The IEEE-CS Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award recognizes innovative contributions to high performance computing systems that best exemplify the creative spirit demonstrated by Seymour Cray.

IEEE-CS Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award

The IEEE-CS Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award is presented for outstanding contributions in the application of high performance computers using innovative approaches.

IEEE-CS TCHPC Award for Excellence for Early Career Researchers in High Performance Computing

The IEEE Computer Society TCHPC Award for Excellence for Early Career Researchers in High Performance Computing recognizes up to three individuals who have made outstanding, influential, and potentially long-lasting contributions in the field of high performance computing within five years of receiving their PhD as of January 1 of the year of the award.

SC Awards

Test of Time Award

The Test of Time award recognizes a paper from a past SC conference that has deeply influenced the HPC discipline. It is a mark of historical impact, and requires clear evidence that the paper has changed HPC trends.

Best Paper Award

The SC Papers Committee identifies one submission as the best paper from the conference’s Technical Program.

Best Student Paper Award

The SC Papers Committee identifies one submission as the best student paper from the conference’s Technical Program. The first author must be a student.

Best Reproducibility Advancement Award

The SC Best Reproducibility Advancement Award aims to recognize outstanding efforts in improving transparency and reproducibility of methods for high performance computing, storage, networking and analysis.

Best Research Poster Award

The SC Posters Committee identifies one submission as the best poster presented as part of the conference’s Technical Program.

Best Visualization Award

The Scientific Visualization & Data Analytics Showcase Committee chooses one scientific video among six finalists in a very competitive process for the Best Visualization Award, presented as part of the conference’s Technical Program.

Student Cluster Competition Awards

SCC is an opportunity for students to showcase their expertise in a friendly yet spirited competition demonstrating the breadth of skills, technologies, and science that it takes to assemble, maintain, and utilize supercomputers to impress HPC-industry judges. Two awards are presented: the Highest Linpack Award for the best Linpack benchmark performance and the Overall Award for the highest overall score.

Back To Top Button