Dr. Xian-He Sun is a University Distinguished Professor and the Ron Hochsprung Endowed Chair of Computer Science at the Illinois Institute of Technology (Illinois Tech). Before joining Illinois Tech, he worked at the DoE Ames National Laboratory, ICASE, NASA Langley Research Center, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, and was an ASEE fellow at the Navy Research Laboratories. Dr. Sun is an IEEE fellow and is known for his memory-bounded speedup model, also called Sun-Ni’s Law, for scalable computing. His research interests include high-performance computing, memory and I/O systems, and performance evaluation and optimization. He has over 300 publications in these areas and is currently leading two multi-institutional large NSF research projects. He is an Associate Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems (IEEE TPDS), and a former chair of the Computer Science Department at Illinois Tech. Dr. Sun received the Golden Core award from the IEEE CS society in 2017, the ACM Karsten Schwan Best Paper Award from ACM HPDC in 2019, and the first prize best paper award from IEEE/ACM CCGrid in 2021. More information about Dr. Sun can be found at his web site
Back To Top Button