Tony Hey is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, ACM, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. At the University of Southampton in the UK, his parallel computing research group designed and built one of the first distributed memory message-passing computers using innovative Inmos transputers. He was later Head of the Electronics and Computer Science Department at Southampton and Dean of Engineering. In 2005 he was awarded a CBE for Services to Science after leading the UK’s eScience initiative.

After 10 years as Corporate VP for Technical Computing in Microsoft in the US, he returned to the UK and has been Chief Data Scientist at STFC’s Rutherford Appleton Laboratory since 2015. He was one of the originators of the MPI message passing standard in 1992 and was awarded the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award by the International Open Benchmark Council.
Back To Top Button