DescriptionThe Universitas Indonesia team consists of senior-level undergraduate students majoring in physics (Mr. Abednego, Mr. Fahreza, Mr. Millennianno, and Mr. Ma’ruf), math (Mr. Al Josan), and computer science (Mr. Prasetya), with varying computational science experience. Mr. Abednego and Mr. Fahreza currently perform research with Quantum ESPRESSO software and Boltztrap2 Python package, and are taking a course on Fortran 90/95. Mr. Millennianno and Mr. Ma’ruf study Instrumentation Physics and Control Systems, both hardware and software, from the basics of Assembly and C as the main way of writing instructions/code. Mr. Prasetya (CS) and Mr. Al Josan (math) contribute their deep knowledge from the point of view of their respective fields. This broad spectrum of backgrounds will definitely contribute to the team’s performance in the competition.

This is our first HPC competition. We have great interest to participate in IndySCC, and we’re eager to learn new things, for example about parallelization and algorithms. This competition will not only provide a place to learn those things, but also give a chance and experience for the team members to apply the knowledge that have been acquired previously and from academic courses. We also realize that HPC will become an integral part of scientific research, especially in the simulation and artificial intelligence world, in which every team member is currently interested. We hope to contribute our talent in the world of HPC.

Mr. Phan is an alumnus of Universitas Indonesia (S.Si. in Physics) who recently finished his MS in Physics at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. His master’s thesis involved porting a dynamical density response code “Exciting-Plus” based on Time-Dependent Density Functional Theory (TD-DFT) to the Summit supercomputer. The original CPU-only code was awarded the 2010 ACM Gordon Bell Honorable Mention for Performance, and the ported code performed 12x faster (wall clock time) compared to CPU-only runs on Summit. He currently works as a Research Software Engineer at Sourcery Institute.

Dr. Cahaya is an assistant professor at the Physics Department, Universitas Indonesia. He received his doctorate degree from Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University, Japan. He teaches mathematical and computational methods in physics at the undergraduate and master level. He utilizes Density Functional Theory calculations for modeling physical systems, supported by the research computing cluster at Theoretical & Computational Condensed Matter Physics (TCMP) lab. This cluster is also available for TCMP students, which includes Mr. Abednego and Mr. Fahreza.

Dr. Adhianto is a research staff at the Department of Computer Science, Rice University. He received his doctorate degree from the University of Houston. His research interests are compiler and performance analysis.

Prof. Bustamam is a professor at the Mathematics Department, Universitas Indonesia. He received the PhD degree in bioinformatics from the University of Queensland, Australia. His research focuses on high-performance computing approaches on computational mathematics, computational biology, bioinformatics, and computer science.

Dr. Budiardja is a computational scientist in the National Center for Computational Sciences (NCCS) at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He earned his PhD from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville in computational astrophysics.
Event Type
Student Cluster Competition
TimeMonday, 14 November 20227pm - 9pm CST
LocationSCC Booth
Registration Categories
Next PresentationNext Presentation
Back To Top Button